Caring for Black Feminists like me

KwaVokotheka

Over the last couple of weeks I have been discombobulated, primarily by the questions and experiences I have undergone within feminist spaces, thus, I have struggled immensely trying to articulate this confused feeling and space I find myself.

Feminism has offered me a window through which I can articulate myself and my ideas, this is a box I have firmly felt comfortable snuggling into and have always defended. With all its politics and problems, feminism has given me somewhat of a sound identity, it the piece that people use to come up with a shallow understanding of who I am. However, I have been content with this, but with growing criticism and my changing needs I have had as a woman, there were moments I have found feminist spaces to be very alienating.

I never thought in all my life I would be surrounded by a group of black women…

View original post 775 more words

Leave a Reply

